Skip to content

Final appearance on Comment on Kentucky, and a farewell to the Bluegrass State

November 10, 2010

I’ll be heading over to Lexington tonight for the taping of Comment on Kentucky – KET’s weekly public affairs program featuring journalists from around the state.

It will be my last appearance on the show, as I’ll start a new position next week with the Triad Business Journal in Greensboro, NC. I’ll be moving back to reporting, with the health care industry as my primary area of coverage for the Business Journal, which covers the cities of Greensboro, Winston-Salem and High Point. This is a great opportunity for me professionally, and a chance for me to return to my native North Carolina.

But it means a farewell this week to Owensboro and to Kentucky. I’ve been a member of the staff at the Messenger-Inquirer since July 2004, and in that time have moved from covering the criminal justice system to City Hall, and also to the halls of the Capitol in Frankfort. As a reporter I’ve also had the opportunity to travel to Louisiana in the wake of Hurricane Katrina and to the National Mall with a group of Kentuckians to experience the inauguration of President Barack Obama. I’ve even managed to be commissioned as a Kentucky Colonel.

For the last 18 months, I’ve been the editorial page editor – a move in my career that I have relished and that’s allowed me to grow as a writer, researcher and journalist. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed writing for the opinion page and for this blog, which has offered me new opportunities to opine about different subjects and offer my own thoughts about the issues facing Owensboro, Kentucky and the country.

I’ll be offering some more of those opinions at tonight’s taping of Comment on Kentucky, which will air at its usual time on Friday night. Being a guest on Comment is something that has grown more and more enjoyable with each visit, and has been another of the great experiences in my journalism career so far.

So tune in Friday night – by that time, I will have wrapped up my work here at the Messenger-Inquirer, and will hopefully be well on my way to getting my things packed for my move to North Carolina. This will be my last dispatch on this blog – thanks to those who’ve have read, commented and participated – it’s been a fun run.

Best,

Owen

Comments are closed.

