Skip to content

Heading to Fancy Farm

August 6, 2010

I’ll be heading down to far western Kentucky this afternoon for this year’s Fancy Farm picnic, the 130th in the event’s storied history.

Former U.S. Sen. Wendell Ford of Owensboro makes a point while addressing the crowd at the 120th Fancy Farm Picnic, Saturday, Aug. 5, 2000 in Fancy Farm, Ky. (AP Photo)

Tune in tonight to KET’s Comment on Kentucky with host Ferrell Wellman to kick off the weekend’s events. I’ll be a guest on the program joined by Bill Bartleman with the Paducah Sun, and I believe Ronnie Ellis with CNHI News Service.  We’ll be looking back at last year’s event, which offered some insight into this year’s U.S. Senate race, and looking ahead to the speaking tomorrow, which kicks off at 2 p.m. Central. Comment airs at 7 p.m. Central, and will be broadcast from the picnic grounds in Fancy Farm.

Got anything you’d like to let me know before tonight’s program? Shoot my an e-mail at ocovington@messenger-inquirer.com or give me a ring at (270) 691-7296.

I’ll also be updating this blog and my Twitter account – @smeatherstavern – throughout the day tomorrow, and will have a column on the day’s events in Sunday’s Messenger-Inquirer.

Comments are closed.

