Skip to content

Grayson forms exploratory committee for U.S. Senate run

April 30, 2009

Kentucky Secretary of State Trey Grayson has formed an exploratory committee for a possible U.S. Senate run.

“I have formed an exploratory committee to allow me to formally raise and spend funds as I seek support for a bid for U.S. Senate,” Grayson, a Republican, said in a statement. ” I have no plans to run against Senator Bunning.  This exploratory committee will allow me to travel the Commonwealth, meet with potential supporters and lay the foundation for a campaign.”

The move fuels speculation that the man currently holding that Senate seat, Republican Jim Bunning of Southgate in northern Kentucky, is considering retirement. Bunning has maintained that he will seek a third term in the U.S. Senate next year.

Read more about the latest in the 2010 Senate race at Politico.com and NKY.com.

Comments are closed.

